Memorable quotes from my Narc

“I don’t want to be a partner, I want to be a just dictator.” (The next day, this was followed by “I knew you’d throw that in my face. I didn’t mean that. I never want you to mention it again.”)

“Those people who just stare each other in the eyes and say how much they love each other.. that’s boring. I would never want that. You need push and pull in a relationship.”

“You’re crazy.”

“You don’t know what you’re talking about.”

“You’re super needy.”

“I don’t understand why you do things that you know hurt me.” (After I stop talking to him in response to repeated abuse.)

“I didn’t do whatever you think I did.”

“I love a nice name call. Very satisfying. Like scratching a mosquito bite.”

“I’m sad that I used to have a girlfriend that played piano so good but I don’t have her anymore.” (My value was never about who I was as a person, it was about things he decided were important, that were bragworthy and made him look good.)

“Women always say they want 50/50 but for women 50/50 is more like 70/30.” (His response when I asked for him to put in some effort, like staying over at my place once in a while.)

“You have so many more desirable qualities than [his ex].”

“Why can’t you just let me be the man.” (This anytime I wanted to have input into any kind of planning, especially trips.)

“Either I get to yell at you or I get to call you a bitch. Pick one.” (When I asked him not to yell at me when he’s angry.)

“That’s not what we’re talking about right now.” (Whenever I tried to clarify something in an argument.)

“I only tell you you’re fat because it’s so ridiculous because you’re obviously not fat.”

“You’re not sick. You don’t even know what you’re feeling.”

“You think there’s some perfect guy out there for you.” (Said with contempt when I would say that normal couples don’t fight like this etc.)

“I’m trying to be nice. I just need more time.”

“Nothing is wrong with us if you don’t want there to be. ”

“You are a rare person.”

“We’re like two peas in a pod.”

“The girl you need to be worried about [me cheating with] is the one I don’t talk about.”

“I wish you would just chill out.”

“I wasn’t making you believe anything you didn’t want to believe. “

Leave a Reply

